Post Production of a Wedding

Now that I finally found time to blog I wanted to tell you about this awesome program called Magic Bullet Looks by Red Giant Software.  I heard about this little gem from an awesome filmmaker named Philip Bloom.  His website is http://philipbloom.co.uk/ and the video which I was amazed by is called “Return to Dungeness”.  He was kind enough to create a tutorial of how he stylized this video utilizing a laptop running Final Cut Pro and the plug-in/software Magic Bullet Looks.  After watching his tutorial, which is really interesting and fun to watch, I was sold on it and made the purchase to use with the latest wedding footage I had shot in Hawaii.  All I have to say is WOW!  I love how easy it is to use and how fast you can create your own style.  I have noticed however that when color grading needs to be done on every single clip it can be a little tedious.

The video clip that I am creating was all shot on a Canon HF100 using a JAG35st adapter and a Canon HF10.  I did find the JAG35st to be an awesome addition to my creative shooting.  After a lot of use this last few months the adapter seems to be holding up to all my travels.  It is scuffed up but working quite well with all of my Canon FD lenses.  There is one small issue with the ground glass in the static adapter.  When facing a lit subject I can see a small circle or ring on the ground glass.  This only seems to be most visible in well lit areas but I am pretty sure I can purchase another ground glass from Mr. Garcia.  I am sure all of his products are as awesome or better than the JAG35st that I purchased.

I will have a video posted here shortly once all color grading is done along with my company logo animation using Motion software which I have never used before.

~ by Justin on July 9, 2009.

Leave a comment